MAGIC
Michigan – Arithmetic Geometry Initiative – Columbia

MAGIC is an online seminar starting in May. The topic is arithmetic geometry, broadly construed to include parts of algebraic geometry and number theory, focusing on concrete problems.

The seminar is organized by Wei Ho (University of Michigan) and Will Sawin (Columbia University).

MAGIC meets Thursdays, 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm EDT, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm CDT, on Zoom (password is the order of the finite simple group A6).
That is 10:30 am - 11:30 am PDT, 18:30 - 19:30 BST, and 19:30 - 20:30 CET.

Talk Schedule

< >

May 7
1:30 EDT

Daniel Loughran

University of Bath

Probabilistic Arithmetic Geometry

May 14
1:30 EDT

Nick Rome

University of Bristol

Weak Approximation on Quadric Surface Bundles

May 21
1:30 EDT

Ananth Shankar

MIT → Wisconsin

Finiteness results for reductions of Hecke orbits

May 28
1:30 EDT

Andrew Sutherland

MIT

Computing L-functions of modular curves

June 4
1:30 EDT

Yuan Liu

University of Michigan

Presentations of Galois groups of maximal extensions with restricted ramifications

June 11
1:30 EDT

Tony Feng

MIT

The Galois action on symplectic K-theory

June 18
1:30 EDT

Peter Koymans

Max Planck Institute

Integral points on quadratic equations

June 25
1:30 EDT

Shabnam Akhtari

University of Oregon

A positive proportion of quartic binary forms does not represent 1

July 2
1:30 EDT

Jiuya Wang

Duke

Pointwise Bound for ℓ-torsion of Class Groups

July 9
1:30 EDT

Tim Browning

IST Austria

Del Pezzo surfaces by degrees

July 16
1:30 EDT

Stephanie Chan

UCL

A density of ramified primes

July 23
1:30 EDT

Mark Shusterman

Harvard

The quadratic Bateman-Horn conjecture over function fields

July 30
1:30 EDT

Informal arithmetic geometry discussion (bring your questions)

August 6
1:30 EDT

Seoyoung Kim

Queen's University

From the Birch and Swinnerton-Dyer conjecture to Nagao's conjecture

August 13
1:30 EDT

Richard Griffon

Universität Basel

Elliptic curves with large Tate-Shafarevich groups over F_q(t)

August 20
1:30 EDT

Levent Alpoge

Columbia University

Effectivity in Faltings' Theorem

September 3
1:30 EDT
(pre-talk)
2:10 EDT
(main talk)

Hannah Larson

Stanford Univeristy

Brill--Noether theory over the Hurwitz space
(with a pre-talk on limit linear series)

September 10
1:30 EDT

Jennifer Berg

Bucknell University

Conic bundles over elliptic curves

September 24
1:30 EDT

Max Lieblich

University of Washington

TBD

October 8
1:30 EDT

Jacob Tsimerman

University of Toronto

TBD

October 22
1:30 EDT

Myrto Mavraki

Harvard University

TBD

November 5
1:30 EDT

Arul Shankar

University of Toronto

TBD

November 19
1:30 EDT

December 3
1:30 EDT